E3 2016: Living On Hopes and Dreams

Murray_The_Demonic_Skull_by_8bfAnother year, another E3. I have been becoming less and less enthused as E3 is used less to show off what games are coming out and used more to show non-gameplay videos to promote pre-orders for games that may or may not come out 2 or 3 years from now. Worse, the last week was such a build up of hype just for E3’s hype. That said, there are still some games I am hoping to see more information on.

Nintendo stated that NX information will come later in the year, so I am really expecting nothing about that. I do expect to see the new Legend of Zelda. I never really got in to Pokemon (I played Red and Blue back in middle school, but that was it) but I am excited to see what they do for the 20th anniversary. I am hoping to at least see a couple new 3DS and Wii U games. I know the Wii U is winding down, but outside of Paper Mario and Zelda, there is nothing on the horizon.

Sony is expected to show new hardware, both their VR platform and the upgraded PS4, Playstation Neo. They should also be showing off Horizon Zero Dawn. Microsoft also is supposed to show off new hardware, both an Xbox Slim and an upgraded Xbox One. They may even show more on their augmented reality platform, HoloLens. I also hope to see some backwards compatibility announcements, as well as details on Halo Wars 2 and Crackdown 3.

From EA, I want to see Mass Effect Andromeda and what they are doing (besides lackluster Battlefront DLC) with the Star Wars License. I assume Watch Dogs 2 will be a thing and I would love the Beyond Good and Evil 2 rumors to be true, though I’m not holding my breath. I am still excited about Deus Ex: Mankind Divided and South Park: The Shattered But Whole. It would be nice to see some new games with protagonists that aren’t bland ‘roided up white dudes (typically with the “bad guys killed my family and I want revenge” backstory) for a change.

I can only hope this will be another great year for games. Hopefully there will also be a few surprises to be excited about in the coming year.

Leave a Reply

