E3 2014 – Final Thoughts

Nonspecific Action Figure ApprovesE3 is over, and it wasn’t a bad year. While most of what was shown was previously known there were a few pleasant surprises. There were some neat new IPs announced but no real left-field show-stealers (such as Scribblenauts and Watch Dogs in previous years) this year. I can guess that the next 24 months should be pretty good for games.

I am not a big fan of Microsoft. Windows 8 as a desktop operating system is a joke and the Ad-riddled 360 has left a bad taste in my mouth. However, I liked the Bungee Halo games and a few of the exclusives like Fable. However, the announcement for not only Halo 5 as well as HD Remakes of Halo 1-4 as well as a new Fable game, while tempting, will probably not get me to buy the XBone. Personally, I would rather had an HD remake of Halo 2 for the 360. Also, the lack of ODST and Reach is pretty disappointing (ODST being my favorite game in the series next to the original Halo). The Sequel / Remake of Crackdown looks like it could be interesting. Finally Project Spark could be fun but what was the deal with the appearance of everybody’s favorite foul-mouthed squirrel, Conker?

Sony’s press conference had probably the most left-field surprise announcement of the entire show, Double Fine’s remastering of the LucasArts classic, Grim Fandango. I was lucky enough to find this game for a few dollars a few years ago, and it really hasn’t aged well. This remastering should make it much more playable on modern hardware than trying to get the original to run on Windows 7. We got more information on the Vita TV (now renamed  the Playstation TV) as well as Uncharted 4. Lastly was the announcement of LittleBigPlanet 3 which will probably be as good as the previous games.

Mass Effect 2: Sarah Shepard

FemShep is sad she won’t be in Mass Effect 4

EA brought more information on The Sims 4 as well as teasers for Mass Effect 4 and Star Wars BattlefrontDragon Age Inquisition still looks promising. I still have high hopes for the Mirror’s Edge prequel. Square’s Rise Of The Tomb Raider should also be something to look forward to. Personally, I am hoping to see more games with playable female protagonists, as playing as a ‘roided-up space-marine is getting really boring, and to be honest, less fun to look at.

Saving the best for last, is the “Big N”. First, I am stoked for Smash Bros. While they announced the customizable Mii Fighter, they still neglected to confirm my homeboy, Ness. In previous Smash games, Ness was pure pwnage, give him the beam sword and he was an unstoppable goddamn Jedi. I can only hope he is still in the new games. It does suck that they pushed Smash 3DS from summer to October. Speaking of Smash, they also announced their own NFC toys called Amiibo which will make their debut with Smash U. While I might pick up a few if the price is right because Zero-Suit Samus would look awesome sitting on my shelf, I don’t really see myself playing with them. Also, I really hope we finally get a Non-Specific Action Figure statue!

tingle-thumb-257x400-9131

Tingle’s body is ready for Hyrule Warriors

Speaking of Samus, there were hints of two new Metroid games in the works, one 2D and one 3D. The new Zelda sounds pretty awesome. It will be returning to its roots as a open world game. I just hope they finally spring for some real voice actors because while the whole grunts and giggles thing with screens of text was fine for 1998, this is 2014 dammit and I want some actual voice acting. If half-life can have voice acting and a silent protagonist, so can Legend of Zelda. Hyrule Warriors still looks as fun as ever. I just hope we can play as Tingle (Dear god, why would I ever want that!?).

I really want a new Mario Paint game. Using the tablet, the Wii U would be the perfect platform for it. While we didn’t get that, we did get Mario Maker. Starfox U is also a thing. I just don’t want them to shoe-horn the controls in like they forced on Starfox Command. Project Giant Robot looks pretty sweet. Splatoon looked fun as well. Devil’s Third doesn’t interest me but I wish it success as I want more hard-core games on Wii U. Oh, yeah, the first Bayonetta is coming to Wii U and will be bundled with Bayonetta 2.

All-in-all this was a pretty good year. Full of playable female characters, reasons to play the Wii U, and things to look forward to in 2015. The worst part is seeing all these cool games and having to wait to play them. Dammit, I want my Smash Bros NOW!

Leave a Reply

