E3 Thoughts – Nintendo Edition

It is almost the end of the first official day of E3. Here are some of the things that really stood out to me. This seems to be Nintendo’s year. You can tell because Sony and Microsoft are shamelessly copying them (I will give more on Smart Glass and Sony Smash Bros Battle Royal later), but it is also Nintendo’s show to lose. If I seem to bitch about Nintendo all the time, it isn’t because I am some hater or some rabid fanboy, but because it is part of my childhood and I want them to succeed.

Now that their Keynote is over, I feel both excited and let down. The Wii U looks amazing. They seem to have addressed many issues that I have with the Wii; Crappy web browser, lack of a wireless classic controller, crappy online options, and the terrible white color. It is also good to know that it will officially support two Wii U Gamepad controllers. However, it only left more questions to be answered. When will it come out and how much will it cost? Will it integrate in any way with the 3DS? What is the Nintendo Network and how will it work with the 3DS and Wii U? How much storage space will it have? There are still conflicting rumors about how powerful the Wii U will be compared to the current generation systems; what are the system specs? UPDATE: Apparently the Wii U will launch in white with black being released “someday“.

Miiverse looks to be rather ambitious. I like the idea but I fear it will also be abused. It doesn’t just connect friends across consoles, but random strangers who are playing the same game. It supports text and picture comments. Having experienced voice chat on Xbox Live and used the Swapnote service on the 3DS, I can easily see this devolving into vulgar trolling and penis doodles. UPDATE: It will apparently be heavily moderated with spoiler and profanity protection.

The software side was seemingly the most disappointing. I hope you like Mario and year-old games. Mass Effect 3 and Batman Arkham City were great games, and I like Mario as much as the next guy, but this doesn’t bode well for this new system. I don’t know if I want to re-buy Batman, or Mass Effect. After playing New Super Mario Bros Wii and Super Mario 3D Land, I really don’t know if I am ready for yet another side-scrolling Mario platformer, especially one that doesn’t feature the cape power-up, let alone two.

 

It wasn’t completely disappointing, Aliens: Colonial Marines still looks great. Pikmin 3 looks as fun as the original.Paper Mario: Sticker Star also should be a worthy entry into the series. I can’t say that Ireally liked the first Luigi’s Mansion, but I might give the sequel a try. Nintendo Land looks…interesting. Game & Wario will hopefully be as good as the previous Warioware games (hopefully better than the lackluster Smooth Moves). Wii Fit U is there with a new pedometer sensor. Tank! Tank! Tank! (or as I like to call it, Combat Evolved) looks fun. Project P-100 looks like a great original RTS. The most interesting thing shown off was Scribblenauts Unlimited for both Wii U and 3DS. I liked the first two games. Having the ability to create and share objects should alleviate some of the problems I had with the other games in the series. I can’t wait to pit my Gordon Freeman against zombies and Cthulhu.

In other news, Spy Hunter is being rebooted for the 3DS. Kirby’s Dream Collection, a Kirby game compilation to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Kirby franchise will be released in September. Bit.Trip Runner2: Future Legend of Rhythm Alien will be released on the Wii U. Lastly, Nyko is unveiled a new 3DS accessory that couples an extended battery, Circle Pad Pro, and a case, called the Power Grip Pro.

What I was hoping to see: A new Star Fox, Metroid, and F-Zero game. A preview of the new Smash Bros. game, preferably with a confirmation of Mega Man as a playable character. I wanted to see a preview of the new Animal Crossing, and Fire Emblem. Maybe even an announcement of a new Advance Wars game. I would have loved to hear a confirmation of the rumor about the Communicator Gamers Collection which is supposedly a western localization of the Tomodachi Collection which is a social simulator like the Sims or Animal Crossing but with Miis.

Lastly, what was up with Iwata’s Bananas? Anyone else want Nonspecific Action Figure to be the new mascot or at least make an appearance in the new Smash Bros?

Leave a Reply

