E3 – Games I Am Excited For.

E3 is only a few short days away. As a gamer, E3 is practically a holy week. In anticipation, I am going to run down the list of games I am excited for. These are not really predictions for what I expect to see or even games that will be released this year. These are what I am looking forward to in the future.

First up, The Wii U. Who isn’t excited for a new console? I have been a long time supporter of Nintendo for practically my whole life. While I have been disappointed with their offerings lately, I am hoping that this will be the start of a new chapter. I love the idea of a controller with a display. I love the idea of Mario and Zelda in HD. I just love the possibilities that the Wii U can offer. I hope that this will also help phase out the Wiimote in favor of more traditional controls.

What I am most excited for are the gaming possibilities. Sure Mario and Zelda are great but I am interested in possible revitalization of other franchises. I want to see F-Zero and Star Fox. I would also love to see a return of the Metroid Prime games. Another more confirmed game I can’t wait for is Super Smash Bros.

As a kid, I fell in love with my first Gameboy. I took it everywhere; I was rarely without it. When the Super Gameboy adapter come out that allowed me to play my games on my TV (especially in color), it blew my mind. Now I am older and still love my handhelds; This time it is my 3DS. With a handheld touchscreen, I could see Nintendo releasing a USB adapter or Virtual Console that allows for playing (3)DS games on the Wii U.

Speaking of the 3DS, I am hoping that this will be the year it really takes off. Super Mario 3D Land and Mario Kart 7 were good, but it is time that Nintendo gets off their ass and make some new games. On the horizon, we have Animal Crossing, Paper Mario, New Super Mario Bros, Fire Emblem, Luigi’s Mansion, and the aforementioned Smash Bros. Sega also has a sequel to The Conduit. Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem like there are many good third party offerings.  That will hopefully change.

Outside of Nintendo, there are a few games I am excited about; First is Aliens: Colonial Marines. From everything I have seen, that should be amazing. Sadly it looks like it will be pushed back to next year. I was never really a fan of the X-COM series. I played the first game back in the day, but I could never really get into it. That said, I am looking forward to both X-COM games in the works. I love Civilization V, that is why I am both anticipating and dreading the new expansion, Gods and Kings. Mostly because it will make me play Civilization again much to the detriment of my productivity and what little social life I do have. Quantum Conundrum, the new puzzle game by Portal lead designer, Kim Swift. Other games worth mentioning are Halo 4, Prey 2, X: Rebirth, Beyond Good and Evil 2, and Bioshock Infinite.

On the Indie front, there are a few I want to see. Most importantly is Retro City Rampage. I pre-ordered this on day one. This looks so over the top that it should be really fun. Next is Fez; while already out on XBLA, I am hoping it will at least come to PC. Super Time Force looks great. Dying sucks; to turn it into a gameplay mechanic is just simply brilliant. I liked Bit.Trip Runner, so a sequel should be even more epic. Lastly, Leisure Suit Larry creator Al Lowe has succeeded in his Kickstarter campaign to remake the first Leisure Suit Larry game. While it won’t be out any time soon, I am nevertheless stoked about seeing him remake one of my favorite childhood games.

Leave a Reply

